Paddy Cleary.

Only 10 days ago Paddy was diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer. We are sure you will all join with us in expressing sympathy to his partner Suzanne Murphy and his brothers and sister and extended family, which I have done on behalf of all his It is with enormous sadness that we tell you of the sudden passing of our friend Dolphin family. Paddy was one of 10, 8 brothers and 1 sister.

Paddy joined Dolphin in his twenties and was on the Minor A team who won the Dennehy Cup in 1977. He was player at all levels, coach, selector and a two-term President of Dolphin in 2001-2002 and 2009-10 and has been a Club Trustee for the last number of years. He also held the position of fixtures Secretary for a long number of years and represented Dolphin on the Munster Branch where he was well liked and respected.

A great tourist, he was always the first to sign up and went on the North American tour in 1982. In true Dolphin spirit he continued the touring for every AIL game and was the first to book his seat on the bus, to include our most recent trip to Ballymena 28/29th Feb. He has been enormous support to all our members past and present, a rock of sense, a gentleman to the core and could be counted upon to express a true and honest opinion, no matter what. One could not ask for a better friend.

Outside of Dolphin, Paddy had a sense of adventure, loved travel, sun holidays and skiing and he was a willing participant in a sing song.

We will miss him greatly, may he rest in peace.

Due to current restrictions the burial must take place today,he travels with the Dolphin flag and a Dolphin “7” jersey.At a later stage, and with the agreement of Suzanne and his family, we will remember Paddy at the Club he loved.


Suzanne Reidy Murphy                      John Stringer

President                                             Chairman

















1977/78 Dennehy Cup & Minor League Winners

Back Row P.J.Dinnen (Coach) G.O’Connell, P.Clery, E.O’Kelly, M.O’Neill, M.Magner, F.Twomey, P.Hitchmough, D.Ahern, M.O’Sullivan (Coach).

Front Row M.O’Riordan, B.Lynch, P.Young, T.Hodkinson (Capt) N.Coleman (President) G.Ganley, D.Harvey, S.Dineen.