Dolphin- Carrigaline run over seven tries

by John Leonard   (Echo)

Dolphin- Carrigaline recorded their first win of their Munster Club campaign as they defeated Cork Constitution at Mahon last Saturday.

Dolphin- Carrigaline opened the scoring in the ninth minute when Conor O’Farrell barged over in the corner for the games opening try, following a series of forward  drives. They doubled their lead in the 20th minute with a try in the corner from Cian Holland following a scrum on the Lilywhites’ ten metre line.

The Lilywhites’ were on the back foot for most of the 2nd quarter but Rory Fitzpatrick intercepted a D-C pass deep inside his own 22 and he sprinted to touch down behind the posts. Aiden Brady added the simple conversion to leave the half time scoreline reading 10- 7 in favour of Dolphin-Carrigaline.

The 2nd half was one way traffic in D-C’s favour as they increased their lead with a try in the corner by Darragh Buckley within a minute of the restart.

Darragh O’Regan scored a try for D-C following a five metre penalty, which they opted to run and Barry Kelliher converted.

D-C scored two tries in a two minute spell. O’Regan scored his second try under the posts following a ruck deep inside the Templehill side’s 22 and Kelliher converted. O’Farrell sprinted from the middle of the park to score Dolphin-Carrigaline’s sixth try.

Richie Heaslip scored D-C’s seventh try following a ruck deep inside the Cork Constitution 22.

Cork Constitution refused to give up without a struggle and Ethan Collins made a break from a scrum won against the head on the D-C five -metre line to score their 2nd try. Brady converted with the last kick of the game.


Barry Kelliher, Ciaran O’Dughgain, Conor O’Farrell, Joshua Moon, Cian Holland, Darragh Holland, Ben Cashman, Darragh Ryan, Charlie Whittford, Thomas O’Donovan, Lee Eidle, Dylan O’Callaghan, Adam O’Brien, Richie Heaslip, Dane Nagl